Oily in AZ

Converting to the Oil Lifestyle, one day at a time!

Plant-Based Cleaning with Essential Oils!

Leave a comment

Updated LeatherSome people might not know this, but Young Living Essential Oils are not just great for supporting your whole body and its different systems, but they are great for using in natural cleaning products for your home! I am all about finding a natural way to clean my house, especially one that doesn’t leave me with a headache and that lingering harsh smell! I also think it is very important to use as little chemicals around the house as possible, with small children and pets running around. One of the cleaning recipes that I recently found was one for cleaning and moisturizing leather.

We bought a leather couch about 8 years ago and got talked into buying the cleaning/moisturizing “care” package that the furniture store basically forced down our throats. “You HAVE to get this kit if you want your couch to stay in good shape with our Arizona sun and heat! It will ruin the leather without it!” Ok, whatever. So about 4 years after buying the couch, I decided it was probably time to try out this cleaner stuff. Oh my, did it smell. Nasty stuff, let me tell you. And the best part about it, after spending 30 minutes cleaning with this stuff, I noticed NO difference in the leather whatsoever. Ugh! Never using that stuff again! Fast forward to a few weeks ago. The couch had been looking pretty worn, and just needed a good cleaning. So, I found this awesome recipe on Pinterest for a natural leather cleaner and decided to try it out. Mixed all the ingredients in a spray bottle, and using a clean cloth just rubbed it in the leather. It took me no more than 30 minutes, and then I let the couch dry. I went over everything once more using a clean dry cloth in case there was some residue left. Well, the couch doesn’t look brand new, but boy did it look nice and clean and shiny! I should have taken a before and after picture, but I forgot. Bonus- the fresh smell!

Note: I used Lemon oil, and it smelled slightly like a salad dressing, but the smell dissipates quickly as the leather dries. Not a bad smell at all, but if you would like a more spicy smell, use Thieves oil instead!

Here is the recipe if you would like to try it out:

Leather Cleaner and Moisturizer

  • 1/2 cup white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • about 10 drops Young Living Essential Oil (either Thieves or Lemon)
  • empty spray bottle

Pour all ingredients into an empty spray bottle. Shake well to mix, and spray directly onto leather, or onto a clean, dry cloth and rub onto leather. Shake bottle while using, as the mixture separates quickly. Rub area until clean and dry to the touch. Let dry for about 30 minutes, and wipe surface with a clean, dry cloth to remove any extra residue.

***Don’t have any Young Living Thieves or Lemon Essential Oil? Click here to find out how to get started!

Author: Robin

Hello! I am a mommy to an adorable 2 year- old daughter, and have been married to my High-School sweetheart for over 10 years! We live in toasty Arizona and have been here our whole lives (so we are used to the heat, LOL!) We are just getting started converting our chemical-filled household to all-natural, using Essential Oils! Come join me on this Oily journey!

Leave a Reply

